Pixabay

Sounds, sounds & more sounds with ZapSplat

Experience and learn is everything

Juan Carlos Giraldo
3 min readOct 3, 2019

--

When you start an entrepreneurship project is mandatory during this process, to go through many things such as sources, experiences, failures, learn, and of course, improve yourself.

I am the kind of guy who doesn’t like to do one thing in my professional field, which means do just podcasting, I like to learn other things.

For example, I have reporters for my podcast called Podcast and Business, around Latin America and Spain; they conduct interviews with professionals in different kinds of fields. (If you like to have a conversation in English with some competent professionals in your country just let me know).

That’s me (right) recording an episode in Harvard Medical School here in Boston

I am a climate change activist, and I was thinking months ago launch a podcast about this topic and all the subjects around it, like sustainability, fossil fuels, recycling, animal conservation, etc.

I wanted to do something different than just talking about the topic; I wanted to do it with sounds to add-in between my voice; these sounds should have to be related to the subject I would share with my audience.

Why in that way?

I wanted to do it in that way because I attended last May to an event here in Boston, where some theatre actors launched a podcast based on their performances. It was very cool. Believe me.

Something I remember was that this podcast had sounds during his scenes that were flush water, a person retching, smoking, sniffing, slams doors, among others.

So, that experience inspired me to do my new podcast in that way; then, I launched Circular Podcast www.circularpodcast.org.

Logo ZapSplat

I try to record one episode in English and another in Spanish; probably you already notice — because of my grammar — that I have an accent, and I love my accent, and people love my accent :).

So, my first step was to try to find a good source of sounds, noises, foleys, etc. and I found ZapSplat www.zapsplat.com a perfect platform based in Australia and even though it is free, I paid my membership every month, and I like that.

My first contact with ZapSplat was with Alan McKinney, the co-founder. Alan is a sound designer.

Alan very kindly helps me with some answers about sounds, equipment, and some software.

I want to share with you an episode that I used sounds from ZapSplat; I used it after I visited a wolf sanctuary in a town near Boston, called Ipswich.

My Foley Sound project

Learning is a process, but the most important is to try; otherwise, we won’t be able to know and find any results. Who didn’t a failure?

Well, let me tell you that after some days I was thinking and thinking why not buy my own equipment and start to record some foley sounds and nature sounds here in the great Boston area. I did. I bought a Zoom H6.

My best advice as a novice: Do not try too hard yourself, step by step otherwise, you’ll get overwhelmed, in the meantime ask, watch videos, get familiar with the field, places, and equipment.

And here my first Foley Sound, which probably like everyone, like me, we recorded with an iPhone :)

Wish me luck on this journey and thanks ZapSplat.

Juan Carlos Giraldo, Founder of Podcast and Business and Circular Podcast. Podcast Journalist and Climate Change Activist.

--

--

Juan Carlos Giraldo

Communication. Sustainability, ESG. Ex Merck, Roche, Pepsi. Founder of Podcast and Business and Activist Planet. www.podcastandbusiness.com